WhatsApp officially rolls out Delete for Everyone feature; Here’s How it works?

WhatsApp Delete for Everyone Feature

Time has increased for deleting WhatsApp messages from 3rd of March 2018. New Time for updated Delete for Everyone feature is 4096 seconds, that is, 1 hour 8 minutes 16 seconds. Currently it is available in beta version & very soon available for all platforms.

Past & Present

Previously, when this feature was rolled out (on November 2017), it provided an option to delete your send messages within 7 minutes on all platforms. Till now also, it is available on all platforms that you can see below.

Hence, this updated user-friendly feature is highly useful for those who sometimes accidentally send a message to someone or perhaps message the wrong person.

Delete for Everyone

  1. You can delete messages such as text, photos, videos, and more within 7 minutes after sending.
  2. Available on all platforms: Android, iOS, and Windows smartphones.
  3. Must have latest version of WhatsApp to avail the benefit of this new recall/revoke messages feature.

How it works?

When a message is deleted, both users on either side will receive a notification of the same. In the chat window, you can select the message and tap the delete icon. You will get the text saying:

Message displayed to sender after deletion of original message
Message displayed to sender after deletion of original message

Meanwhile, the recipient will get a notification that will read as:

Message displayed to recipient after deletion of original message
Message displayed to recipient after deletion of original message

Apart from Delete for Everyone, WhatsApp has renamed the regular delete option – Delete for Me.

READ MORE WhatsApp UPI-based digital payments platform will soon kick-start in India

Delete for Me

Through this feature, you will be able to delete messages that you have sent or received from device. Though, this will have no effect on your friend’s or relative’s chat. This feature will not change anything on their end and they can continue seeing the messages in their chat screen.

Delete for Everyone
Delete for Everyone

The other new WhatsApp feature is also trolling these days is Live Location. Lets’ have a quick look on this new feature too.

Live Location

This new feature allows you to share your real-time location for a specific amount of time. It will be useful to tell friends and family where you are and if you are safe. It must be noted that this feature is end-to-end encrypted, which means no one can see your live location except the people you shared with.

Apart from above features, WhatsApp has announced its pilot program WhatsApp Business on its blog that will make it easier for people to communicate with the businesses they want to reach on WhatsApp.

For all the latest tech news, like us on facebook and follow us on twitter.